Leo Au Wins PSA Challenger 10 TAQA Bankers Hall Club Pro Am

PSA Challenger 10 TAQA Bankers Hall Club Pro Am, Calgary, CanadaFinal:
[1] Leo Au (HKG) bt Raphael Kandra (GER) 11-5, 9-11, 4-11, 11-5, 11-3 (74m)
Leo Au survived a thrilling five-game battle against Germany's Raphael Kandra in the final of the TAQA Bankers Hall Club Pro Am in Canada to become the first Hong Kong winner of the PSA World Tour Challenger 10 squash event celebrating its 11th year at the Bankers Hall Club in Calgary.
"In front of another standing room only crowd, Au produced a gritty at times display of squash which saw the match ebb and flow with each player seemingly taking control only to have it removed from them," explained tournament promoter Bob Ballinger, the club's Head Squash Professional.
"Despite the fact that four of the five games score-wise were not close, do not be fooled - as the rallies were long with great exchanges by both players using all areas of the court in particular - each of them showcasing their amazing hands and front court game.
"After 74 minutes of great all around squash, Au prevailed 11-5, 9-11, 4-11, 11-5, 11-3."
The triumph marks 22-year-old world No47 Au's fourth PSA Tour title.
"So another PSA event and amateur event is over for another year," added Ballinger. "Great crowds throughout the week for both components of the tournament simply enhanced what this event has evolved to become over the years.
"We look forward to January 2014 and doing it all over again!"
For all the latest Tour news: www.psaworldtour.com
[1] Leo Au (HKG) bt [4] Matthew Karwalski (AUS) 11-7, 11-7, 11-8 (53m)
Raphael Kandra (GER) bt Rex Hedrick (AUS) 11-4, 11-8, 11-7 (42m)
[1] Leo Au (HKG) bt Dane Sharp (CAN) 11-8, 4-11, 11-8, 11-8 (77m)
[4] Matthew Karwalski (AUS) bt Alfredo Avila (MEX) 11-2 ret.
Raphael Kandra (GER) bt Graeme Schnell (CAN) 11-5, 11-7, 11-8 (38m)
Rex Hedrick (AUS) bt [2] Joe Lee (ENG) 6-11, 15-13, 11-3, 11-4 (63m)
1st round:
[1] Leo Au (HKG) bye
Dane Sharp (CAN) bt Michael McCue (CAN) 8-11, 13-11, 11-4, 11-13, 11-9 (93m)
Alfredo Avila (MEX) bt Farhan Zaman (PAK) 11-8, 9-11, 11-4, 12-14, 11-8 (55m)
[4] Matthew Karwalski (AUS) bt David Letourneau (CAN) 11-6, 11-5, 11-8 (30m)
Graeme Schnell (CAN) bt [3] Jan Koukal (CZE) 8-11, 13-11, 9-11, 11-6, 11-3 (81m)
Raphael Kandra (GER) bt Yann Perrin (FRA) 12-10, 11-5, 11-4 (30m)
Rex Hedrick (AUS) bt Andrew Schnell (CAN) 5-11, 11-8, 11-6, 11-2 (66m)
[2] Joe Lee (ENG) bt Charles Sharpes (ENG) 11-7, 11-8, 11-9 (60m)

Secure Card Payments

Secure Payments with Sagepay